GOAL SETTING PART 2

Sonia was opportune to read SEA publication for the month of May, and she was highly impressed and therefore made up her mind to start setting Goals. Picking up her phone she dialled my number which she saw at the back of the publication and expressed her excitement. During our discussion, she asked two very important questions.

She said SEA,
1. What categories of my life do I need to set goals on?

2. What are the foundations for establishing a goal?

I was surprised by her intelligent question, and with a smile on my face, I asked her to sit back, relax and enjoy the publication for June because I would be focusing on her brainy questions.

WHAT CATEGORIES OF MY LIFE DO I NEED TO SET GOALS ON?
I would be pointing out nine crucial categories.

1. Spiritual Goals: These are goals that relate to your religious belief, your faith, and your spiritual growth. These goals give strong answer to how many hours I need to spend per day praying, how many hours I use for praises, would I be fasting once in a week or once in a month, how I would start or continuing paying my tithe and offering and some other spiritual issues. These answers come when you set spiritual goals.

2. Personal Goals: This is a very important part of goal setting. These are goals relating to your personal growth, character development, how you attend to live issues and address them. These goals give resilient solutions to how do I want my life to be planned, what characters do I need to drop, what character do I need to possess, what do I need to change about the way I address practical life issues and what part of my life needs time for personal growth and some other key personal issues.

3. Career Goals: This goals give answers to what career do I want to pursue, how do I intend to pursue this career, what course do I need to study to be able to pursue this career, what degrees do I need to hold to be able to practise this career, what professional exams do I need to write to give me higher chances of getting this career, what networks do I need to build to acquire this career, what projects do I need to work on to make me stand out in this career.

4. Financial Goals: These are goals relating to money matter relating to income growth, savings and investments. How do you intend to start saving from the money received, what unnecessary spending’s would you have to reduce to save more, how do you intend to start growing your finance positively, through the utilisation of your talent or starting up a business, what kind of business would you like to invest on, how do you intend to get the money to start the business.

5. Family: These are goals set to strengthen bonds with your siblings, partners, relatives, parents and children’s.

6. Friends: These goals answer thoughts provoking questions like who do I intend to strengthen my friendship with, and who do I intend to weaken my friendship with, what particular area do I need to strengthen my relationship with some people, is it in business, reading, brain-storming, religious, relaxation or in two or more areas, what kind of character should my friend possess and what character should my friend not possess.

7. Community: It is always important to spend your time helping those round you with your talents and the resources within your disposal to ensure that you have a better community. This give answers to questions like how can I get involved with my community work, is there any way I can pull my own strength to ensure that my community is better, how am I going to ensure that I make my community better, how many hours am I going to be putting into community service every month.

8. Recreation: Work and no play they say make’s Sonia, a dull girl. These are goals relating to relaxation renewal, taking your timeout to do the things you like, for example swimming, playing football, playing video games and watching of movies and travelling on vacations and excursions. Much time should not be spent on these goals.

9. Health: Goals relating to what you eat, if you would be reducing the level at which you take sweet things or at which you take salt, doing exercises either on a daily, weekly or monthly basics, going for medical check-up every month or yearly, how many hours would be spent on resting and overall health and wellbeing of the body.

WHAT ARE THE FOUNDATIONS FOR ESTABLISHING A GOAL?
Every goal must be on the S-M-A-R-T foundation.

Every goal you set must be;

1. S – Specific: being specific means to be precise and to be decisive with your goals. What do you desire and want to achieve, there is no sitting on the fence, there is no either A or B, I am ok. You must always choose a goal and stick to it, either you want first class or you want a two-one degree from the university, there is nothing like I am ok with any of the two. Being specific makes you more determined to achieve what you really want to achieve.

2. M – Measurable: A student that wants to have a first class would start knowing If he has been working towards that goal when he starts seeing his test and assignment results. A measurable goal helps you know if you are achieving the goal, if you are working towards the direction of the goal or you are far from the direction of the goal, helps you identify your strengths and expose your weakness. This ensures that you detect your defaults errors) before they become too late to correct.

3. A – Achievable: Can you achieve your goals? Are you willing to achieve these goals? There is no point setting a goal when there is no internal will to achieve such a goal. Every goal must first be achieved in your mind before it is brought to paper, if it is achieved in your mind, you can plan well to achieve it. For every goal that would be achieved is an action plan that would
make the goal achievable.

4. R – Relevant: Like we said earlier, goals are the necessary steps taken to achieve your vision; so therefore, your goal must be relevant to your vision. A guy that wants to be a singer in the nearest future must understand that he must be able to set specific and measurable goals that are relevant to him achieving his dream of becoming a musician.

5. T – Time conscious: A vision is a goal with a DEADLINE, and that deadline signifies time limit. There must be a particular time the goal must expire just like the football match ends roughly after 90 minutes. It makes the goal more planned for, organised and precise.
Seun Emmanuel Alaofin (SEA)

Leave a Reply

